Beef Jerky #4

I got the Excalibur out this past weekend and made two new batches of beef jerky. The goal was to make something along the lines of the Black Pepper jerky you can buy in any store or gas station. I found a couple of basic recipes online that looked decent. I modified each of them slightly. Here is what I made:

Batch #1  (aka the Beer Pepper Jerky)

1 – Bottle of beer (Stella Artois)
1 – Cup of Soy Sauce
1/4 Cup Worcestershire Sauce
1.5 Tablespoons black pepper
1 Tablespoon Garlic Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Tabasco Sauce
Coarsely Ground Black Pepper (lightly on the top of all pieces as they were going in the dehydrator)

Batch #2  (aka the Serrano Pepper Jerky)

3/4 Cup Worcestershire Sauce
3/4 Cup Soy sauce
1/2 Cup liquid from a jar of home-pickled Serrano peppers
1.5 Tablespoon Dark Brown Sugar
1 Tablespoon Onion Powder
1 Tablespoon Garlic Powder
1 Tablespoon Black Pepper
1 teaspoon Liquid Smoke
1/4 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
1/4 teaspoon Ground Coriander
Coarsely Ground Black pepper (lightly on the top of all pieces as they were going in the dehydrator)

And how did it turn out?

In coming up with the Serrano Pepper Jerky idea, I was concerned that 1/2 cup of the liquid form a jar of home-pickled Serrano peppers would be too much, that the Jerky would be too spicy for most people. I was wrong. It only managed to impart a very slight taste of serranos into the jerky. In fact, in spite of the serrano juice and all of the (many) other seasonings, it wasn’t very spicy at all. I’m not sure if that’s “just the way it is,” or if the brown sugar cut too much of the heat, or what. I don’t think I’ll be making this exact recipe again.

As for the Beer Pepper Jerky, it has potential. I’d be lying if I said I could taste the beer, but it was overall a very nice flavor with nice if not-enough bite to it.

I’ll try again soon I’m sure. I’ll probably modify the Beer Pepper Jerky recipe and try it again. As for the Serrano Pepper Jerky recipe, I think I’ll throw it out completely and try again. Next time my base will be a larger portion of the serrano “juice,” along with some diced serrano peppers.

Leave a Reply

